12 weeks pregnant! I think…

Standard

According to my calculations of how long I’m pregnant since the moment of conceiving, it was exactly 12 weeks two days ago. Glow app on my phone says I’m over 13 weeks. We’ll see what doc says and what my due date is. Again, counting 40 weeks from the date of conceiving, the due date is just before Christmas, but from the first day of the last period – around 13th December. One of my BFF’s first child was born on 13th of December. And also Taylor Swift was born on this day. 😀 What would bet the odds of that happening? The chance is not high though because very few women give birth on their actual due date.

So, I have finally marched into the second trimester. Still waiting for the glow, lol. So far, the feeling of toxicity is rarely present but does show up sometimes, which I blame on surge in hormones, as it coincides with tenderer breasts and sensitive, crampy uterus.

Also, the one thing everybody promises you is that during pregnancy your skin, nails and hair will be growing stronger, shinier and prettier than usual because of a hormone. While my nails I can’t complain about, my skin isn’t that fabulous, I’m getting some minor acne. But my hair… well it has not become stronger and shinier – I sometimes feel like it’s strawlike, dryer and falls out more than before. My hair has been falling out a lot always, but now more than even that. It’s everywhere!  I’m shedding like a cat when spring and summer comes! The little nugget inside me has been sucking the life out of me! 😀

julijs1 006

I used to have a cat. Look at that smug face after I combed all that out of him! Well, that is me now!!!

I do feel a bit more energetic now, so it isn’t too bad now. There are still a few days where I just can’t do without a nap but that’s not often. I’m quite lazy though and don’t exercise much, like should be. Walking a lot is something I do, that counts too, I guess. Not because I go on walks, but because I have to go places, ha ha!

An “interesting” thing I was “lucky” to get two weeks ago is the stomach flu! Well, that was not a good time! For two days I was trying to fight through it myself, just hydrating a lot and still trying to eat something, because, after all, the baby needs food! I might as well have not eaten anything because it just went through me without absorbing any nutrients whatsoever. On the third day I decided to finally take action and bought diarrhea meds suitable for pregnant women and children, and started taking them. By then I was VERY weak and dehydrated, and lost two kilos of precious weight. Should have started treating myself from day 1. That was basically an involuntary two day fast. I was worried about that affecting my little nugget, but I guess a woman’s body and pregnancy is built so that it would not be too much affected by such things – there are some reserves in the body that the baby can take in case of emergency, and the amniotic fluids protect it against high temperature.

On the second day of my stomach flu, I had a scheduled 12 week ultrasound for the baby, and despite me feeling poor, he/she looked very much OK, moving around and being active. Thankfully, everything is going well, everything is developed nicely, the heartbeat is nice and strong. It’s just so unbelievable how quickly it has grown from a little blob to a little human with limbs, eyes and all other organs. It has grown so big! Also, the determined age of the baby according to the size at that point, which was nearly 2 weeks ago, was 12 weeks and 2 days. So it’s growing nicely, even faster and bigger than supposed to. Take that everybody who say that vegetarian diet isn’t sufficient! In your face! 😀

In honour of finishing the first trimester, now everybody knows about the nugget – my parents, my partner’s parents, our friends (the most important ones), and my boss too. Everybody is happy and ecstatic about it, congratulating me, there’s even been some tears of joy. It’s really a relief because I’m terrible at keeping secrets and there were a few times when I almost accidentally blabbed, just because I’m used to talking about it with my partner and forget to switch the filter on. It’s also so much nicer now that I can share my experience with my BFFs and discuss every little symptom and get their advice because they both have gone through pregnancy twice. When they were pregnant, it didn’t look difficult from my viewpoint at all, and now that I’m pregnant, I understand and am able to appreciate what they went through too.

One of the things I’ve needed advice about is where to give birth. I know it’s probably a bit too early to think about that but it is on my mind quite a lot. The two options here is the Riga Childbirth House and Stradini Hospital. The first one looks nicer aesthetically but the problem with that is the quantity of women going through there, I don’t want it to feel like a conveyor belt process where I’m just the next one. I also know that the place is understaffed and underpaid, so what can you expect from a sick and tired midwife, or anybody, really? The second place one is not aesthetically pleasing at all, the building is old and intimidating, but the staff is allegedly nicer and more professional, they are better equipped. So just because of that I’m more inclined to choose the Stradini Hospital, despite the looks of the place. Like one of my friends said – when you’re in pain while in the labour process you will not care about the looks of the place, you won’t even notice any of it.

Then again, I do want to have the option to choose a water birth, or at least to try to relax in a bathtub before delivering. Or to choose the position that I’ll be in, maybe use a birthing chair, etc. The latter probably wouldn’t be a problem, but about the water birth – don’t know about Stradini Hospital, but the Childbirth House does offer that, if you pay extra for it, and also have an individual contract with a midwife or doctor, which also costs. That would round up to almost 600 euros together. I would get my special treatment though, if I paid. But the costs don’t end there – if my partner wants to stay overnight, the room for both of us, plus the baby, would cost 60 euros per day. They keep you there for three to six days, depending on your condition and if there’s been any complications. so that is a minimum of another 180 euros. Summing this up – what I want costs at least 750 euros and can reach 930 euros. If I suddenly realised that I can’t do this all and need an epidural – that also costs, nearly 300 euros. Excuse me, but I have other expenses to think about, like baby clothes, a pram, a car seat for the baby, and all other small things that add up to be a lot. I can’t afford to spend 1000 euros on just giving birth. I know, if I don’t choose anything fancy, it can be done for free. But I do want to at least have the option to have all these nice extras too!

I have been watching One Born Every Minute a lot lately, which is an awesome British show about how women give birth, it shows all the real stuff going on. The aforementioned pricing argument and also just seeing how it’s done there really makes me want to consider to go do it there. Spend less money on tickets going there and give birth there for free in any way that I want to. I do understand that I should not expect rose petals and chocolates and whatnot from England, the grass is not always greener on the other side, but from what I’ve researched, it seems a better and better idea every day. It is a big and important decision, not easy to make. Even harder to make, considering the opposition that will definitely come from my family, especially mum. Her criticism is what I fear the most, even if it isn’t there in the end. Oh, decisions, decisions… I do have a lot of time to think about all this and I am planning to go to some classes at the Stradini Hospital, see how really everything is, meet some staff members, see the rooms and wards. Maybe it isn’t too bad, I don’t know. We are also going to UK this summer, and I would very much like to go and see where I would give birth there if I chose so. Really, in the end, is it even possible to plan anything in life? When you make plans, god laughs at them, right? I might not even be well enough to go anywhere… I guess, I can just live and see how everything goes. 🙂

Tomorrow is doc appointment in honour of the first trimester ending, I’ll hear him out about my blood test results, ultrasound, ask about, the due date, what is normal and what isn’t, ask about flying  to UK this summer, etc. Hope it all goes well. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

