It’s a boy!!! 20 weeks!

Standard

I’ve gone half-way through my pregnancy now, I’m a bit more than 20 weeks, and I had the second trimester’s ultrasound done 10 days ago and found out the gender – it is a boy, just like I thought it would be, before I even conceived, and even before I met my partner. LOL.

Everything in the ultrasound looked perfect, it was a bit bigger than I thought it would be, but according to measurements it matches its age exactly. It’s spine looked so pretty, like a zipper, and he was sucking his thumb in the end, so adorable! My partner will have to wait until next pregnancy to have a daughter.

Some pregnancy symptoms that I’ve had are more visible veins on the sides of my tummy, I’ve snored a lot lately, although I think its because of a too big pillow, a little bit of fatigue, but not too much. Also, I sometimes get emotional and upset about things that are not going my way, and it’s very difficult to stop tears from coming. I do try to tell myself that it isn’t that bad, that it’s all hormones, that sometimes helps, sometimes it doesn’t. I really don’t want to lose my cool, my reasoning abilities, don’t want to be a psycho hot mess mum.

The baby bump is seemingly getting bigger with each day, the skin is getting tighter, and it itches like hell too, especially around the belly button. I try not to scratch to avoid stretchmarks, and lather the skin with stretch-cream, bio-oil, and healing cream. I do suspect that I’ll get stretchmarks anyway, I don’t think my skin is very flexible. But we’ll see. 🙂

I’m starting to think about getting baby stuff, such as car seat, a pram, a scarf sling, some clothes. I want to do it all gradually, so that the costs are leveled out through the months. I also need new, bigger maternity jeans for wearing in autumn and winter, as I have gotten a bit bigger and it is quite difficult getting the first ones on at the rare occasion that I wear them this summer – I prefer looser, comfier clothes instead. I will also need some bigger T-shirts too for the growing bump.

We are now visiting my partner’s parents in UK, and went to London for two days with them. I’m very proud of myself for how much I walked around, to the point of lower backache, but I got through it. Thankfully the baby also endured it very well, with no bad signs or anything. Hopefully I have now walked so much that I’ll have strong legs of steel for birth. 😀 We were at the Hyde park, saw the dinosaur section of the history museum, saw the Buckingham Palace on the second day, and went to the Sea Life Center. Did not go on the London Eye ride because, even though I’m not afraid of heights, I don’t want to get a vertigo feeling while pregnant. Some other plans flopped, but at least I can say I’ve seen more than the train station in London and my partner’s parents’ home town.

Having a nice time here, and partner’s parents also gave us the first gift for the baby – a plush bunny, which is very cute. 🙂  A pretty white&blue blanket is also being crocheted for my little nugget. I assume we’ll be getting some more gifts from close relatives, now that they know the gender. At least I know my mum planned to get us some baby clothes or something while she was in America and was a bit upset that gender is not known yet, and she wouldn’t know what colour to get. I know that my mum is knitting something too. 😀

Everything seems to be going very well so far, and I hope it all stays that way.

Leave a Reply

