26 weeks pregnant!

Standard

I’ve come so far – the end of second trimester, where the journey starts to end. So proud of myself for being a strong and mostly happy mummy to be. I’ve had moments of sadness and tears, even just a few days a go, but mostly I remember the good and the happy me.

20160905_130036

Baby bump has grown quite big and symptoms of pokey stomach have changed to achy pelvic bones/hips. My hips are naturally quite narrow and stiff, I can do the splits only in my dreams. So no the bones are shifting for my precious baby to be able to slide through unharmed. However, the pain is quite annoying and I hope it won’t make me unable to stay active for the rest of the pregnancy, which is important. I want to be strong and prepared for the labour.

In addition to occasionally doing some yoga stretches plus squats and other strength building moves, which I do at home, I’ve started attending so-called pregnancy movement classes. They also help, although some of the things or movements seem unnecessary and too easy, and the class instructor doesn’t seem to know how to breathe right sometimes. Well, whatever, I breath the way I know to be right. The classes means something regular, otherwise I tend to be too lazy sometimes and lack motivation to get off the couch when I’m home.

In addition to hip pain I’ve also gotten coming and going small painful lumps in my armpits, which feel  like a huge painful pimple. Doctor explained this today, saying that there are glands in the armpits that are a part of breasts and that they are getting ready for milking, the same as boobs are. So nothing to worry about.

What has made me worry and triggered me to go into miserable crying mode is that my blood test results came back with diagnosis of iron deficiency anemia, as my hemoglobin level has again fallen to 106, and iron reserves are low too. It made me feel so angry because I’ve already been taking so many vitamins, iron especially – in shape of pills and a syrup too. It all seems to have been in vain and I was so very disappointed. Now, unfortunately, I have to take iron supplement called tot’hema in ampules, which is what I wanted to avoid and tried to be so diligent with vitamins. Oh well, I’ve come to terms with it, I guess it could be worse.

Another test that I had to do is glucose tolerance test, to make sure that there are no tendencies towards diabetes. For this I got my blood drawn first, then I had to drink a big glass of very sweet sugary water, sit at the lab waiting room for an hour, get my blood drawn second time, then wait another hour, and then get blood drawn the third, and last time. So my arm got poked with needles three times, as a result of which it is now bruised and looks like that of a drug addict. 😀 The results of that test were OK, at least that’s good. Like everybody else in town, I got up early and was at the lab shortly after its opening time. I had to wait in queue for 30! other people to go first, which took me nearly an hour just waiting for my turn, as there were only two employees servicing people. Could have easily slept in and gone there around 10 am, as that was when there was almost no people there, no queue at all. I was eventually sitting there alone, reading my book in the waiting room. My bum was stiff as hell after sitting in their uncomfortable chair for so long.

Keep on bumping until the next time!

Leave a Reply

