Approaching 30 weeks of pregnancy

Standard

 

In 4 days I will be 30 weeks pregnant and my maternity leave will start officially. I am already off work, using up a week of vacation days that I had left. So whoopty-doo, no more working for at least a year! I brought my work computer to the office, so now I’ll be able to free up a bit of space at home and arrange furniture so that there is place for baby’s bed and wardrobe, which we don’t have yet.

Today is the first day that I went out to charity shop and Kilomax clothes shop to buy some clothes for the baby. Otherwise I couldn’t spend a cent on baby things earlier because our budget was quite tight after car repairs. Now I have just been paid, so I want to buy everything! I am looking for the cheapest options though, I don’t understand how a long-sleeve onesie can cost 15 euros at normal clothes shops. I bought quite a lot today and only spent around 20 euros. The clothes are only going to last a few months, so I don’t see a point in spending a lot. Same as with pregnancy clothes for myself. I’ll only get one pretty and new outfit for baby for homecoming, after all it is a celebration. 🙂

I also went to pharmacy today to get Pregnacare vitamins – I’ve been taking Amway Nutrilite daily ones, but ran out a few weeks ago, and thought I would give myself a break from those specific vitamins. That was not a good idea, I’m deteriorating – my nails have become brittle and have started peeling and my tongue problems have aggravated. So, at the pharmacy, I found the vitamins in the shelf and was just looking at other baby stuff, just to see what they have, what I’ll need, etc. The cashier offered her help, asked if I need to buy things for labour, told about how it is cheaper to buy a set for labour, rather than buying diapers and pads and stuff separately. I ended up getting that, and a sterilized labour set (which should be provided by the hospital, but is recommended that I get it myself). In the end she gave me a special discount because we are frequent customers there, and because it’s for a baby, as well as the Pregnacare vitamins came with a gift – a onesie for the baby. Plus I got a 2 euro coupon for the next purchase there. So quite a pleasant experience there, nice that the cashier was so kind to help and give a discount.

I’m happy about buying things finally, as I’ve felt quite anxious about it, the due date is quickly approaching and I want everything taken care of ASAP, so I don’t have to think about any of that and can relax and just enjoy the rest of the pregnancy. Right now, we haven’t gotten much, apart from what I’ve written above. No crib, no pram, no car seat, no wardrobe. The small things, however, are the trickiest because there’s so many of them.

My partner told me that last night I was talking in my sleep. He said I tapped him, and murmured something about the list. He asked a few times, what list, to which I eventually responded – the baby list! So I’m even anxious in my sleep. I’ve now drawn up two lists: general baby list, and hospital “bag” list. Really it will be a suitcase because you practically have to take your home with you, even spoons, forks, mugs, towels, water, anything you could think of, even toilet paper. As if we were going camping for a week. It’s so ridiculous, really. Good thing we don’t need to take a tent, sleeping bags and blow-up mattress with us. Seems like they will literally be providing us only with four walls. What a nice, civilized EU country we’re living in! I really hope I won’t have to stay there for too long.

As to pregnancy symptoms and how I and the baby are doing, everything is kind of the same as a few weeks ago. My hips are still hurting; my lower back muscles start aching when I go on longer walks, but I still try to have them anyway, determined to keep up my stamina. I haven’t really gained much weight lately, and even the bump size seems the same – 101 cm. I guess the baby is growing upwards of my tummy instead of forwards. The baby is active, sometimes makes me jump from unexpected and even painful kicks. Had a doctor’s appointment last week, again, no problems, everything looks good.

This week I also went to pregnancy yoga class for the first time, and enjoyed it very much. I just love the atmosphere at the yoga centre, and the class really is much better than the exercise classes I went to before. What I really loved was that the end of the  yoga class was us mummies just laying down while the teacher worked with singing bowls. I just loved it.

Tomorrow I’ll go to so-called Mummy Thursday at Domina shopping centre. It’s like a free class for mummies, covering various topics, taking place once a month. Hope it’s interesting.

Lastly, another list we need to make – baby names. At least that doesn’t cost anything. Maybe just my nerves. 😀

Leave a Reply

