33 weeks pregnant!

Standard

I am almost 33 weeks pregnant, bumping along, only 7 weeks left until the due date. Thinking more and more about birth, especially because I’m reminded of proximity of labour every time I get a fake contraction, aka a Braxton-Hicks contraction. Mostly they are just uncomfortable, but here and there I can also get a bit painful one, which makes me practice some breathing and relaxing. It will be hard and I hope I’ll be strong enough and will be able to bear all that eminent pain.

I am looking forward to meeting my baby, holding it in my arms for the first time and look into his eyes. At the same time, I feel like it’s going to be a bit weird not having a baby bump anymore, I think I’ll be feeling empty without it. But what I’m really looking forward to is feeling normal, being able to switch sides in bed or stand up without pain in my hips. And I’m hoping that my body won’t look flabby and weird with loose skin on the tummy. Thank god, I still don’t have any stretchmarks, and hope I won’t have any, although they can pop up in the last week of pregnancy. What I have noticed I do have is cellulite, which is bad, but easier to fix than stretchmarks. So praise Shiva and pray to him about all this.

Apart from the painful hip situation, I’m feeling alright. My main focus physically now is to not fall ill – it is autumn, it is cold and damp outside, which makes many people fall ill. I don’t want that but have been on the edge of getting ill for a couple of weeks, so now I’m avoiding being outside for too long, as the cold air instantly irritates and makes my throat sensitive. That sucks because I’d like to go on a walk and be active in fresh air, but because of this I can’t do that and am stuck at home mostly, which is boring and a bit depressing.

My pregnancy brain is manifesting lately as well, lots of small things that I forget but it also got dangerous once. I was driving home with my partner and was approaching a traffic light for a pedestrian crossing. The light went red but somehow my brain registered that as red for the pedestrians, not me. In shock I watched how many shameless people were “braking the rules”, crossing the street during that “red” light, whilst seeing me approaching in my car. I even was about to beep them to show how shocked I was and that you can’t do that. Luckily I had my partner next to me to look out for things like that and he returned me to reality, by repeating “Red light!” three times. Only then did I realise that the red light is for me, not them, and stopped just in time. Thank god for him, because I don’t think I would have stopped, and don’t know how that situation would have ended without him. Not a nice glitch in my brain.

I’m almost done getting baby products and essentials, only a few things left to get. We ordered a 3in1 pram on ebay, cost us 315 euros, which is dead cheap for a normal quality product. I just don’t see the point in spending big money on things like that, some prams cost even over a thousand euros, and that’s just insane! You can buy a car for that! I’m satisfied with the purchase and happy that I could cross one major purchase off the baby list. Another expensive thing to use with the pram and car seat is Lodger Bunker footmuff, which is like a very warm sleeping bag for the baby for winter especially. That cost me around 80 euros. I was thinking of buying a used one cheaper, but these things apparently are so popular and in demand, that as soon as anyone posts an advert about selling theirs, it’s sold and gone within minutes, if not seconds. We have also ordered a crib and a wardrobe with changing surface for the baby, which should be ready in about two weeks.

I also have enough baby clothes and have been washing ironing them recently, which is very tiring and time-consuming. The new-born clothes need to be ironed both from the outside and inside, for the time period while the baby’s belly button is healing. Today I washed the last load of baby clothes and will iron them tomorrow most likely. That is when I’ll be ready to start packing the hospital bag. Excuse me, no – the hospital suitcase. It’s literally like going camping, you need to take so much stuff. I’ve only put in there a labour set of diapers and pads for me, a sterile labour set, and a package of diapers for the baby, and the suitcase is already half full. This is ridiculous. My partner keeps joking, saying: “Don’t forget to pack the kitchen sink!”

Another thing to strike off the to-do list is filing for pregnancy leave money, which I have done, and already got the money, which will have to last for about three months I think. All I had to do is get a sick-leave certificate from my doctor, go to the state social insurance agency, fill in a form, and file both these to an employee. I can apply for the next lot of money – childbirth support – only 8 days after the baby is born, which might be around Christmas holidays. That will complicate things, I think, I’ll definitely have to count on delays with transferring money because who even wants to work around that time! So I most likely won’t get any more money until next year.

One thing I have been delaying doing is finding a GP for the baby. Not a big thing to do or much effort, I just haven’t gotten around doing it. I’m now committed to do that in a week’s time.

I have an ultrasound and a check-up scheduled in two weeks, which is exciting – I’ll get to see how my baby is doing, what position it is in, and if it is still a boy. Until then – Pooot! :p

Leave a Reply

